

OACTA Announces 2023 Hilary S. Taylor Inclusion & Equity Scholarship Recipients

Three (3) OACTA Hilary S. Taylor Inclusion & Equity Scholarships, each in the amount of \$2,500, have been awarded to:

Robert Read, a student at Case Western Reserve University School of Law **Averee R. Richardson**, a student at University of Dayton School of Law **Deedra Thompson**, a student at Cleveland State University

These three students will be recognized at the OACTA Annual Meeting on November 9, 2023 at the Hyatt Regency, Columbus.

OACTA Law Student Inclusion & Equity Scholarships are open to the following incoming second and third year law students who are enrolled in an Ohio law school or are a permanent Ohio resident: Minority law students; LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning) law students, regardless of race or ethnicity; Female law students, regardless of race or ethnicity; or, Law students from economically impoverished families/backgrounds, regardless of race or ethnicity. The criteria include academic achievements; service to the community and to the cause of inclusion and equity; and experience or interest in a civil defense practice.

Funding for these scholarships is provided by The OACTA Foundation. The OACTA Foundation, established in 2016, is organized exclusively for charitable and educational purposes, funding projects consistent with the mission of OACTA. Learn more about the OACTA Foundation or the <u>annual golf outing</u> that supports the OACTA Foundation.

OACTA believes that a diverse membership makes a stronger organization. OACTA encourages inclusion and equity in all aspects of its activities and is committed to nurturing a culture that supports and promotes it. OACTA has been nationally recognized as a recipient of the DRI State and Local Defense Organization Diversity Award.

Thank you to the OACTA Inclusion & Equity Committee Co-Chairs, Adelia Mohan and Kelly Grigsby Jones, and the entire committee, for their efforts on this worthwhile initiative!

Congratulations to this year's scholarship recipients!